DJ Haffecke

DJ Haffecke - Amateur

  • Name : DJ Haffecke
  • Nickname : The Whole Stack
  • Current Residence : Huntsville, Missouri - USA
  • Birthday : July 12th, 1984
  • Birthplace : Columbia, Missouri - USA
  • Disability : Cerebral Palsy
  • Injury Date : Birth
  • Type of Injury : Cerebral Palsy
  • Contest Weight : 170 lbs | 77.3 kg
  • Off-Season Weight : 200 lbs | 90.9 kg
  • Year Started Training : 2009
  • Favorite Exercise : Low Rows
  • Favorite Bodypart to Train : Back
  • Facebook: : https://www.facebook.com/dj.haffecke
  • Instagram: : https://www.instagram.com/wheelchair_bodybuilder_djh/

Biography

I was born in 1984 and diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy at the age of one. I have never walked without assistance and still can’t. I have never let this be a burden to me and have challenged myself in many ways. Growing up I have not thought of myself as being in a wheelchair because my family and close friends never treated me as if, “I was different”. Since the school that I was to attend was not set up for a child in a wheelchair is when I realized that I was a little different and needed special provisions.

As a child I was small and as years have gone by I keep getting bigger because of lack of exercise, and by the time I was in High School I was at a whopping 250 pounds! During my Freshman and Sophomore years weight didn’t bother me because I thought I was a nerd. Didn’t worry about girls or dating. But my Junior year..after looking at my prom pictures I thought, “Oh my gosh” and was horrified at what I saw. From that day on I vowed to lose weight and get into shape and lost 50 pounds. This is basically lead me down the path to where I am now. (This I also notice had benefits too.more dates!) During my college career I helped out with boys college basketball team. I took many physical education classes, nutrition class, and coaching class. I originally wanted to be a coach.

After college I decided I did not want to be a coach or teacher and was looking for a new direction. I remembered hearing about wheelchair bodybuilding and so started looking into it and found this website. The funny thing about this is when I was a young kid, my father went on a regular basis to the gym training for his own bodybuilding shows and I was annoyed at having to go the gym all the time. I didn’t at that time understand the dedication it took to be a bodybuilder. So I have always been a competitive person, but never found the outlook to pursue competitions. In 2007 is when I decided to start training. At that time was just to get into better shape and have a healthier life. This is when I found myself pushing harder, and harder, and lifting more weight than I expected. Now it’s 2009 and decided to compete in wheelchair bodybuilding.

There have been a lot of ups and downs along the way, lots of blood, sweat, and tears! It has been more of a challenge too because I do not have full control of my left arm or legs. This has not stopped me..I have found I out lift some of the able bodied men in the gym. Thus, making me work harder and very proud of my accomplishments. This year July 23,2011 I entered my first bodybuilding competition and won first place in my division. This was the Missouri State Bodybuilding Championship. When I returned home the local paper and the YMCA at which I train, did a write-up on me and my competition. Soon after this competition BMFSports (Lift Without Limits) became my first sponsor and am very pleased with this company and being a part of it. http://www.bmfsports.net/ & http://www.liftwithoutlimits.org/

“Being challenged in life in inevitable, being defeated is optional.”

Q&A'S

  • What happened? Why are you in a Wheelchair?

    Medical mistake at birth

  • Why did you get started?

    Didn't like being over weight, out of shape and gain a passion for the sport of bodybuilding/fitness.

  • What made you want to become a Wheelchair Bodybuilder?

    To prove to myself and others that being in a wheelchair shouldn't hinder you from trying to reach your goals.

  • How did you go about doing it?

    I read up on nutrition, bodybuilding, and ask my dad questions to educate myself more on what I needed to do. Paid attention to what worked and did not work for my own circumstances.

  • What is your Training?

    Monday: Chest & Bicep
    Tuesday: Back & Triceps
    Wednesday: Shoulders & Traps

    I can not walk so no squats, but I do train them as much as possible. I do abs the best I can but my CP keeps me in my chair. I like the push pull method and have been doing that for 8 months.

  • What is your Education?

    Graduated from Westran R-I Public School in 2003, Two years of College at Moberly Area Community College, Self taught physical fitness, nutrition, and training.

  • What motivates you?

    To not be an average guy in a wheelchair and go above expectations people don't think are possible. The next show date on the calendar!

  • Do you have any suggestions or tips for others?

    No matter what you want to do in life, go for it and don't let anything or anyone get in your way to achieving your goal. Usually, you only have one shot at something, so make the best of it


Contest history

• Amateur Contest History

2012 NPC Muscle Mayhem Championships : 2nd Place